Lay Leadership

Home Who We Are People Lay Leadership

For generations, our sacred community has thrived through our members. Their involvement and dedication make all the difference in our ability to carry out our mission. Our working groups and committees offer great opportunities for members to not only lend their talents, skills, and passions but also to develop new ones. Each year, over 300 members actively participate in committee work. If you would like to get involved and form new connections, take the first step here by reaching out and letting us know. We will help you find the right place to make an impact.

Board of Trustees

As the governing body of the synagogue, the Board of Trustees oversees the conduct of the affairs and activities of our congregation through the appointment of Standing Committees. The Board of Trustees generally meets on the first Tuesday of every month.

Leadership Council

The Leadership Council, which is composed of former presidents of the congregation, honorary trustees, and elected council members, is the backbone of our congregation. As our trusted advisers, the members of the Leadership Council make a tremendous impact on our community.

Elected Council

  • Lonn Drucker
  • Georgia Feldman
  • Jennifer Goldsmith
  • Jennifer Grella
  • Lisa Gross
  • Allison Hertz
  • Ben Holtz
  • Rachel Kogan
  • Andrea Lesser-Gonzalez
  • Liz Lyster
  • Nick Morse
  • Shari Noe
  • Dan Rabinovitz
  • Maria Isabel Rosario

Past Presidents

  • Marc Maxwell
  • Brad Gerratt
  • Elizabeth Levin
  • Kathryn Madden
  • Carol Michael
  • Chris Noe
  • Gary Pforzheimer
  • Fran Putnoi
  • Dean Richlin
  • Leah Rosovsky
  • James Segel
  • Kathy Weinman
  • Barry Weisman
  • Justin Wyner

Honorary Trustees

  • Janet Aserkoff
  • Anita Bender
  • Paula Brody
  • Laurel Friedman
  • Fran Godine
  • Richard Goldman
  • Carol Kur
  • Chuck Levin
  • John Loewenstein
  • Don Perrin
  • Sandy Perrin
  • Donald Putnoi
  • Nancy Raphael
  • David Rosenthal
  • Nancy Sandman
  • Arthur Segel
  • Miriam Smulow


In the spring of 2019 we updated our bylaws to reflect how we are living Judaism as a congregation. We thank our many members who played a part in revamping our bylaws.


Nominate an Emerging Leader

We are interested in identifying “emerging leaders” in our community – people who are either actively involved at Temple Israel or people who we hope will become more involved. Please submit your recommendations for up to five people and describe how each could develop into future Board of Trustees and Leadership Council members.